The Menorah Blog

Jesus, Name Above All Names

The Beauty Of Kindness

Our Church is in a neighborhood of killings about every month. Nealy all of them are drug related. I have observed many of these who have died walking by the Church as I was in front doing things. I have talked to some of them. What I have noticed is the absence of kindness. Not on my part but theirs. I have also noticed in society generally there is little kindness.

One of the traits of spiritual decay and even criminal behaviour is the lack or absence of kindness. If only there was a way to pour this great gift into people. If only they could get a dose from a bottle or a box. Maybe if it was available from a doctor and get a shot. It just might be there would be far less killings, both natural and spiritual. Anytime there is a killing there is no doubt there was no kindness.

I read about a girl who was kidnapped, how she begged the man to let her go so she could go back to her two children and husband. But the man who was to rape her and then kill her had no kindness. What I noticed in him was that he spoke harsh, mean, and cruel to her. Now that is the evidence there was no kindness in him. And it was also why he would not have any sympathy for her. He was intent on killing her and he did not have any kindness about his plans.

At the root of kindness is the beauty of a good spirit. Think about it. How many less killings would there be if the killer had kindness?

One of the men who has helped me on the Temple came in crying. There had been another killing, another was in the hospital and had just died. He told me about one of them, a close friend, repeating over and over: he is gone, he is gone, he is gone. I saw it. Here was a man who had tears in his eyes for a drug dealer who died. Here in him, a man who had his own alcohol addiction, there was sympathy and kindness. Yes, I said kindness. See, this past sunday was 5th sunday at our Church. We had an awesome service and move of God. And afterward we had dinner. We always allow the homeless to come in and eat with us. After Charlie had eaten he disappeared. Soon he returned with a woman. He asked if she could have something to eat. Of course the answer was yes. She fixed her plate and ate. Charlie disappeared again. He came back with a man named Curtis. He got a plate and ate. Then Charlie asked if he could fix a plate and take it to someone. Here was an alcoholic who had kindness. Although he had his own problems, he was still kind toward others.

There is a tree at the corner of our property and the store next door. Charlie stands there asking others if they can spare a dime. I have seen him panhandling with a few coins in his pocket and someone come up and ask him for a quarter and he would reach in and get one and give it. I ask him, Charlie why do you give them your money? His reply: “pastor they are hungry just like I am.” But you are not hungry Charlie, you eat anything you want from the Church refrigerator. We keep food there for the homeless. Yes, Pastor you know what I mean. We are all street people, that’s what I mean.

Well, it was Curtis laying in the hospital shot up. And Curtis died. Charlie was crying. I pulled up to the Temple to go in and call on Jesus name. And soon he opened the door and came in. I heard his voice: its me Pastor, its Charlie. He came in where I was sitting with tears. Pastor, Curits is dead, he is gone. He is gone Pastor. He is gone, he is gone, he is gone. I saw it: kindness in his heart, in his words, in his sorrow.

Then Charlie spoke to me: Pastor when will the Temple be finished? Please Pastor help to save us before we are all killed.

What was he asking me for? I have a vision already for these lost souls. In his own way he was begging for me to reach these drug dealers and prostitutes, the street people, the homeless, with kindness of my heart. Please Pastor he said: with tears in his eyes for his friend Curtis. I told him, Charlie we are having Church in the back. Curtis came Sunday for food but he would not come to Church. Still there was that begging to bring some help to the street.

Kindness is an attitude of caring. If you do not care for someone it will show up because there will be no kindness. Being harsh, mean, cruel is not kindness no matter what excuse a person offers for their attitude. I have seen many men who were not kind to their wife. They treated them mean, harsh, criticized them, and found fault with every possible thing they could. Then see these jerks leave their wife after they have had a couple babies, put on a little fat, and go commit adultery and get a divorce and marry a more trim, more beautiful girl who has had no babies; who he has not been mean, harsh, and cruel to, finding fault with everything.

I think there is something here. Kindness is not looking for faults but ignoring them. Kindness can come in soft words that are seasoned with salt. After all, what does season your words with salt mean, but to show kindness and a sweet flavor. Kindness will not be cruel. And kindness will not try to spread hate from yourself to others using all manner of reasons for justification.

Ok, I have every reason to reject sinners who are evil, wicked, curse, use God’s name in vain, who do drugs, who are alcoholic, who themselves are the image of rebellion. I could look at these souls and call them worthless scumbags. I could look at my harvest field and see all the rocks, all the thorns, all the weeds, and say to myself: I am not going to care for this land any more. But then, my kindness will not allow me to do all of this. Then I could see the kindness of Jesus, in that while we were yet sinners he died for us. Then I could understand the Scripture:

“But after the kindness and love of God our Saviour toward man appeared” (Titus 3:4).

Yes, kindness comes with love. A person will not be kind to a person they do not love. And also, kindness and love must appear. Not just in the words a person chooses to use, but in their very acts.

The beauty of kindness is something that will reach to the depths of the soul. And this beauty must come out and show itself to the world. When it comes out, there will be no more an attitude of hurting, finding fault, or killing (both naturally or spiritually).

There is beauty in kindness.

Pastor Reckart
A Man With Kindness And Love
_________________________
Oh, I forgot: except for the devil, demons, wolves, snakes, dogs that go back to their vomit, and disrespectful swine.

September 4, 2009 - Posted by | Apostolic Messianic

No comments yet.

Shalom: thank you for becoming a follower of Pastor Reckart's Blog. Check back in every day to see if there is a recent addition. Jesus bless you more and more until that perfect day of the coming of the Lord.

